Why Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was disappointing

1 Aug

Okay people, I am going to rant and grow mushy (I am feeling sentimental, bite me!). If you are planning to read Harry Potter and the cursed child, close this window.

I grew up reading the Harry Potter series. In fact, I used to read them so often (everyday, really) that my father used to say that I knew the books word for word. I did. It was no surprise that I read Harry Potter and the cursed child.

I remembered the excitement and the endless possibilities that came with Rowling’s imagination. There was nothing that couldn’t happen. I remembered discussing with my friends the rumours and speculations that were nearly mandatory in the months leading to the release of a new book. We used to play Harry Potter word building that used to last several days until we had run out of words.

I have read fan-fiction and many of them were achingly beautiful. And so I reminisced while at work before I curled up on my bed with hot chocolate and read the latest book on Harry Potter. I was done in about an hour and a half and I was confused. I didn’t know how to judge it.

In most cases, when a book is nearing the end, I get excited or antsy. Sometimes, both. Excited because the book is going to end so we know how the plot turns out or there are too few pages to find out and so we have the miserable wait for the sequel. In this case, I felt like I had just fast forwarded through a story without any character development and I didn’t know the book had ended. I was waiting for something, more… solid.

The style of writing was okay. I would have obviously preferred JK’s more, but well you make do with what you have Albus and Scorpius have been fleshed out decently, but I thought it was overboard how Rose doesn’t speak to them. You would think two decades after the war, there wouldn’t be any more of this nonsense. It was why the war was fought. Their reasoning to rescue Cedric is shaky at best and ridiculous at worst. There are so many other people they could have chosen, but my point is it’s too random. So, Amos shows up and cries and they decide to jump off the train?

In what universe does Harry talk like that to McGonagall? This is the woman he cast an Unforgivable for. And why didn’t she just ask him to shut up? Why does Ron seem like cotton head?

And and and Delphini? Say she does stop Voldemort from attempting to murder Harry. Where exactly does that leave her? Something as simple as losing a task causes Diggory to become a Death Eater, so what’s the guarantee that stopping this killing won’t affect her? Harry being unscathed would alter the entire timeline. There is no guarantee she would be born. And even if she is, there is nothing to show that she would grow up the same way. (I always knew Bellatrix was crazy, but this just takes the cake.) In what world is Voldemort capable of having any feelings that can be categorized as sexual? AND HOW DID THEY GET CHANNELED TOWARDS BELLATRIX?

And how does Cedric turn into a Death Eater? JUST, HOWWW?

I felt I was reading a Fan Fiction from an amateur writer. And that is putting it mildly. (Read avial* of first drafts and half-baked ideas with tenuous premise)

Just, no.

It’s probably better to watch as a play than simply read the script (Giving you the benefit of doubt, Jack Thorne). I am ranting because this is NOT Harry Potter.

Maybe it was just that the HPverse has expanded so much over the past few years that I have set the bar too high.

I am going to go on a HP marathon and read all the books to get rid of the after taste. Because The Boy Who Lived deserves a better tribute than this.

JK, you owe us another book.

*A traditional dish of different stewed vegetables garnished with coconut and oil.

***

© My Rickety Typewriter, 2016; Vintage Ink.
No part of the text – partial or complete – may be copied/ reproduced or transmitted without prior permission from the author. The content is the intellectual property of the author. The above applies no matter what way the access to the blog was granted.

2 Responses to “Why Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was disappointing”

  1. meera30 August 5, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

    Truer words have not been spoken. Everything. Just EVERYTHING. This was not Harry Potter. This is like JKR had had enough of the Fanfiction from the HPverse and decided to lend credibility to one. She just picked the wrong one. Perhaps the most ridiculous one.

    PS: So growing up means you can be an idiot to your professor from school? Oh well what do we know here in India? When we have brats here in India – we name them Panju apparently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vintage Ink August 5, 2016 at 2:19 pm #

      Oh God! I forgot Panju. How could I? I actually read it as panju as in cotton and thought I had gotten the spelling wrong. I sort of get where it’s coming from though. They made Ron seem like an airhead. This just feels so wrong. I can’t associate it with HP.

      Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think?

