End of the rainbow

18 Dec

I fancy that I am getting over you.
Some days, when I feel particularly strong,
I think I am over you.
Till a stranger passes by,
And a whiff of their perfume lingers.
I take a deep lungful,
Despite fighting the urge not to.
But when has any part of me listened,
when you were involved?

Your obstinacy has rubbed off,
As I realize that,
Nothing of me is mine anymore.
Not my heart, not my mind,
Not even my senses.
And suddenly that small whiff,
Destroys the false hopes I have nurtured,
The foolish attempts I have made.

The eight inches between the head and heart,
Seem like light years away.
And the memories come rushing back,
A force stronger than me.
Your smile when you see me,
Your words, your eyes,
How you used to say,
You would take me away,
Your eyes in contrast with that smile.
Telling me more than your words ever could.
Making me want to wish it into existence.

The thing that all the writers write about,
You made me see it through you.
More than you, more than me,
But somehow not enough?
Because if it were wouldn’t we be one?
And so I fancy that I am getting over you.
Some days, when I feel particularly strong,
I think I am over you..

But for now, I am hung over.
As I remember things I thought were long forgotten,
And now I see,
They were like a placid lake.
Your absence, my anguish,
The biggest pebble,
Creating endless ripples.

And so, I wonder,
Were you just a passing fancy,
Or were you the last of them all?

Shoulder to cry on

© My Rickety Typewriter, 2014; Vintage Ink.
No part of the text – partial or complete – may be copied/ reproduced or transmitted without prior permission from the author. The content is the intellectual property of the author. The above applies no matter what way the access to the blog was granted.

8 Responses to “End of the rainbow”

  1. JenniferM August 16, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    I stumbled upon this treasure trove by chance and absolutely loving it. You have a beautiful way with words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vintage Ink August 16, 2016 at 10:24 am #

      Thank you so much, Jennifer. I am big fan of your stories. Coming from you, this means a lot! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • JenniferM August 16, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

        You are too too kind 😊 And this means a lot coming from someone who writes with such finesse and beauty.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. meera30 May 2, 2014 at 8:40 pm #

    As I walk the road we did together once
    Damp and glistening with tears from heaven

    The memory of a rainbow we once cheered
    Wished upon and to ourselves veered

    Seems to me like the distant past
    Too bright, too vivid, too long to last

    Yet my eye catches a glimpse of color
    Against a spill of oil lying strewn without art
    And just like that, I see you again
    In my mind, my eyes, and my foolish heart

    – I found your blog and you are going to be seeing so much more of my randomness now 🙂 Beautiful poem, V-Ink. Can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • VintageInk May 3, 2014 at 10:49 am #

      That was such a lovely poem.
      And to think you made it up on the spot..
      What are you made of?

      It is beautiful.
      Thank youu.

      Like

  3. Katia December 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    “When I realize that nothing of me is mine anymore” – what a succinct and perfect way to express a complex thought. You have a way with words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

So, what do you think?

