Coming Apart

15 Sep

Where am I headed?
I know not.
I’m trying to find my way.
The horizon that seems so distant,
Beckons me with open arms.
I move towards it.
Like a plant towards the sun.
Only to be uprooted,
Time and again.
I want to fly,
But I find myself restrained,
Without reason.
The prospects so bleak,
As the skies change to black.

I close my ears to stop the cries.
But they still reverberate.
The anguish, the concern.
Feeling helpless,
As you watch someone crumble.
I long for serenity.
I long to get away.
I long to forget.
Is that a mistake?
I find myself coming apart.
I wonder,
Is the horizon I’m looking at
The one for me?
The choice between right and left.

Do I go with what I have been doing
For years now?
What I have dreamed of since forever?
Or do I do something that is a part of me?
That I do unconsciously?
That I do to get away.
Who do I go to?
How do I find out?
Where?
Answer me, I pray.
Help me see the sun again

.

© My Rickety Typewriter, 2013; Vintage Ink.

No part of the text – partial or complete – may be copied/ reproduced or transmitted without prior permission from the author. The content is the intellectual property of the author. The above applies no matter what way the access to the blog was granted.

16 Responses to “Coming Apart”

  1. KatiB July 5, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    This is an incredibly strong poem. I think you have been able to capture that ever elusive description of what it feels like to be lost, uncertain, confused, and at the same time pressured to make a decision. I really enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vintage Ink July 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

      I think all of us, at some point or the other go through this.. Particularly when we are done with one part of our life and are about to venture into something new. Or even when you simply want to sample a lit bit of the unknown..

      Thank you so much for reading and for taking time out to comment! 😀

      Like

  2. meera30 May 2, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

    I think the answer you seek lies within
    What can I say that will make you believe?
    The horizon will be what you want it to be
    If only you would let your heart set free

    What matter does it, if it’s left or right
    What matter does it, if it’s in your might
    What you want is what you get
    What you want is what you get

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky October 5, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Loved it!!!

    Like

  4. Dimpu September 17, 2013 at 5:53 am #

    I ❤ ittt!!! Reminds me somehow of the poems we had during our school days!!! =D

    Like

    • VintageInk September 17, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Poems from school? 🙂 Haha. Thanks, Sibi..

      Like

  5. Vishnu Priya September 15, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Its goood! _/\_ 😀

    Like

  6. Kruthika September 15, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Ah!

    Like

  7. Shruti Muralidharan September 15, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I love what you’ve written. Your writing is very relate-able. Looking forward to more good stuff 🙂

    Like

  8. Prannoy Rajan September 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    I like it 😀 Good Work! Keep it up!!! 😀

    Like

So, what do you think?

